Selection Criteria

What is the CSU|LAW Hall of Fame?

Our Hall of Fame, established by Dean Lee Fisher in 2017, is an outgrowth of our covenant with our students, faculty, staff, graduates, and community to hold true to our commitments and traditions, dedicated to diversity, opportunity, excellence, and civic responsibility. We have a long, proud history dating back to 1897. Cleveland-Marshall College of Law was one of the first law school in Ohio to admit women and one of the first in the nation to admit minorities. It was our graduates who laid the foundation for the Cleveland legal profession and who led the fight for civil rights in Northeast Ohio.

Who is eligible for the CSU|LAW Hall of Fame?

The Hall of Fame honors individuals who have contributed to the past, present, and/or future success and reputation of C|M|LAW. The inductees may include living and deceased alumni and community leaders, and living and deceased former faculty, deans, and staff.

Must an honoree be a CSU|LAW graduate?

No. While the vast majority of our honorees are current and past alumni, we also honor current and past community leaders and past faculty, deans, and staff. Current full-time faculty and staff are not eligible.

________ deserves to be in the C|M|LAW Hall of Fame. Why wasn’t _________ chosen?

It is very important to note that many prominent individuals who clearly are worthy of inclusion were not named this year. The HOF Selection Committee tried to reach a consensus on each nominee, and, as a result, no Committee member had all their first choices selected. We are very fortunate that there is no shortage of worthy individuals, and we look forward to inducting many other extraordinary people next year and in future years.

Who made the selections?

Dean Fisher appoints a Hall of Fame Selection Committee of alumni, faculty, and current and past staff. To protect them from any possible pre-selection lobbying and post-selection questions and/or concerns, the list of Committee members is confidential. New Committee members are selected each year.

What were the specific selection criteria?

While the selection process is admittedly subjective, there are general selection criteria. The criteria include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Individual’s historic significance to the law school and/or the community
  • Individual’s professional success and reputation
  • Individual’s support of the law school (through time, talent, and/or “treasure”)

The Committee tried to choose, when possible, honorees who fit at least two, and preferably all three criteria.

Is there an open nomination process?

Yes. Anyone may nominate someone via the Hall of Fame Nomination Form. Nominations close each year on February 1.

Scroll to Top